Seek The Joy…

I was fortunate to spend last summer working at the best all-around YMCA summer camp for boys — Camp Belknap. While I was there, a phrase kept being bantered about– ” Be joyful.  Seek the joy of being alive–Seek the Joy” . When I woke up this morning and pulled on my hoodie from that same camp to ward off the slight fall chill in the air, I couldn’t help but think of the things that make me joyful.

What makes you “joyful”? Is it that first cup of coffee in the morning, steaming up your glasses and warming your insides?   Seeing the sunset over an island on the lake ?  Watching a storm roll in from the safety of a cabin?  Clouds rolling in over the valley? View from what feels like the top of the world? Sunlight through the trees on a hike? Knowing you can drive less than an hour and see the ocean expand out into forever?

coffeesunsetstorm rolling inclouds over the valleyview from the ledgesunlight through the treesporthead

These very things have all made me joyful this week– Show me what’s brought you joy, I can’t wait to see.

beckysig

If the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy,
if a blade of grass springing up in the fields has power to move you, if the simple things in nature have a message you understand, Rejoice, for your soul is alive. –Eleanora Duse

16 thoughts on “Seek The Joy…

  1. Wow where to begin, I find joy in my children, nature, photography, art, coffee dates with friends and on my own, cloud patterns, sunlight yes definitely sunlight. Thanks for getting me thinking.

  2. Hi Becky! I love the beautiful pic’s and most of all how you asked us to stop and see what brings us joy on this day or this past week I so appreciate that. I have to say I love a cup of coffee each morning but just being around my family and not just being around them actually spending quality time with them brings me joy and that is what I did this past weekend and that made me feel joyful oh and I can’t forget the new most needed sofa I bought that made me supper happy. Anyhow thanks so much for asking and sharing your joy with us as well.

  3. Gorgeous pictures Becky! They brought me a little joy this morning! Fall brings me joy! Not too hot, not too cold; pumpkin spiced lattes, leaves turning colors from a fiery red rust to a golden yellow, shopping for sweaters and new boots! You have to love fall!

Leave a Reply

