I can make a great breakfast…

I love looking at pictures of things online… I mean who doesn’t? The recipes always look delicious, the crafts o-so-doable. Yet, I never try them.

Today, that changed. I found a recipe and it called to me, y’all. (or maybe I was just hungry and had all the ingredients)

Baked Eggs in Whole Roasted Tomatoes
wpid-0904131144.jpg

Ingredients

6 large tomatoes (Or however many you want.. I only did two)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Coarse salt and ground black pepper
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves (I’m no Martha Stewart, so I didn’t have fresh– Dried worked)
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced (I didn’t use any garlic.. it’s not a breakfast item to me)
6 large eggs (Or however many you want.. I only did two)

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Slice the top third off tomatoes and use a small spoon to remove core and seeds. Arrange in a baking dish, drizzle with oil, and season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with thyme and garlic. Roast until tomatoes are tender and caramelized, about 30 minutes.

Crack an egg into each tomato and season with salt and pepper. Bake until eggs are just set, 7 to 9 minutes more

Holy Mother… these were amazing. It’s like your childhood Ketchup and eggs, but all grown up into a sweet/savory mix. The eggs soak up the juices from the tomatoes and just burst with flavor.

Try it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

