Happy Mother’s Day (A thank you to my children)

This Mother’s Day instead of awaiting the requisite phone calls and cards,  I’m writing a letter to you, my darling offspring.

It’s because of you that I am a mother.  This day isn’t about me.. or rather it shouldn’t be. It should be about the ways you kids make me a better person, a better human being.

It’s because of you that I do what I do.  I fight all day everyday for those who can’t advocate for themselves. I teach them ways to communicate with the world around them and how to have positive social interactions.  I do it because I want you to see that every person is worth something. No matter how different they are from you,  regardless of mental capacity, they are worth something.

It’s because of you, Medea, that I fight and stand up for Women’s Rights. You have had  access to education in every way. You’ve  gone to a good school, attended music classes and had the opportunity to play sports, and if you  needed  it,  you could get tutoring and other help along the way. But there are so many, many little girls and women out there is this big world that don’t have that right. They can’t go to school, they can’t hold jobs and they’re treated like second class citizens and when I look at you… I know that isn’t right. It’s because of you that I think a woman’s body and what she chooses to do with it– should be her business and her business only;  because I know I would hate for any one to tell you what you had to do with yours.  So I vote, I protest, I support– because of you.

My darling boys — it’s because of you two sweet, smart, innocent, beautiful boys that I support Anti-bullying campaigns.  I don’t know what I’d do if anyone were to hurt you in any way, so I choose to educate people about bullying and how it’s hurting our children and ways to stop it.

It’s because of all of you that I support marriage equality. The thought of any of you not being able to marry the one you loved devastates me. You’re going to learn that you were born in a country where you can be whatever you want to be. You have something that lots of men and women fought very, very hard for – freedom. You get to decide if you want to go to college, or to trade school, or just finish with high school. You get to choose whether you want to start your own business, or work at a big company on Wall Street, or join the Army (Air Force) . You get to decide to have children, or adopt children, or foster children. You will be able to own a house, or a car, or a boat. You can practice a religion if you want.   Unless you are gay. Why, you ask? Well, because some people believe that one kind of love is better than another. Some people believe that certain kinds of love are wrong. I want you to know that no matter who you are or who you love, I want you to always be true to yourself and never worry that Mom and Dad won’t support you. I also want you to be kind and open, and know that no matter who you love, your kind of love is not better than any other.

Because of the three of you, I am who I am — and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Thank you, Bryan, David and Medea for making me a mother and a better person.

Love, Mumma

 

Leave a Reply

