Happy Birthday Doodle-bug!

Dear David,

The day I found out you would be joining our family was such a happy one! I couldn’t believe that we were going to be blessed with another child and I couldn’t wait to hold you in my arms. From the day you were born, you have been so laid back and quiet. You slept through the night so quickly, didn’t ever cry and loved when I sang Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star…your little face would just light up every time you heard that song!

I love everything about you. You are so wonderful in so many ways. You have a natural gift for technology and could program theVCR back when you were just 9 months old. You are so smart and you have continued to astound me with how much you know about everything. Don’t ever stop learning! You fill my days with chatter and questions I never knew an 12-year old would ask…but then again, you’ve always been smarter than you should be. You challenge me in so many ways and you teach me about things I never knew I’d be interested in. You dive into your school work and you soak it all in. You’re like a sponge. And I love to see the way that you light up when you learn something new and interesting.

But besides being smart, you have the sweetest heart and I love how you wake up earlier than everyone else just so you can snuggle with me before everyone else wakes up, when we are together. I think that’s probably one of my favorite things ever. I love the texts that I get from you wishing me a good day or telling me you love me. I also love the big bear hugs you give me whenever we see each other. I am so thankful for my beautiful baby boy, almost all grown up, but still the gift of a lifetime. My love for you runs deeper than the ocean, more than all the stars in the sky and I will always, always be here for you.

Sometimes I know you feel sad and it hurts my heart to see you like that. I know it’s hard to be the middle child and I always try to give you extra love and extra time. I hope you never feel like you are treated differently or less. You have experienced more in your young life than most people do in half a lifetime. You had to experience the divorce of your mommy and daddy. I cannot tell you how sorry I am for putting you through that. I know how hard it was and my heart ached for each of you. What I will tell you is mommy and daddy’s divorce had absolutely nothing to do with you. Sometimes parents have issues which cannot be resolved, but is not caused by you and does not diminish my love for you.

Just know that you are loved deeply and completely. Your smile lights up my life! And I love that you are my child the most.

— Love Mom

One thought on “Happy Birthday Doodle-bug!

Leave a Reply

