Blown Away

I am lucky enough to have a friend who has a friend who was able to score us amazing seats to the opening night of Carrie Underwood’s Blown Away Tour… and yes, I was.

I’m not normally a huge country music fan– One can only take so much of the he left me so I’m gonna smash his car/sit here and wait with a shotgun/bury him on the side of the road and build a farm stand over him before one wants to stab oneself in the eardrums, but um- I digress. To hear Carrie Underwood sing one of my moms favorite songs was just breathtaking.

  I’ll admit it.. I cried.  I heard the opening notes and I knew it was going to be bad. I’m pretty sure the people around me were very confused as to why two grown adults were standing in the middle of the aisle with tears running down their cheeks at what was admittedly a very cheesy country song.  But she nailed it, she took Randy Travis’s song and nailed it.  I remember walking in to the house growing up and hearing my mom singing along to this song.. and my friend who was fortunate enough to work with my mom remembers her singing along to it on the radio when ever she got them to change the radio channels to a country station.  It was a great moment of remembering my mom in a happy way 🙂

If I hadn’t been able to hear any other song last night other than “I told you so”…  it still would have been a great night. She put on a great show and every song brought the crowd to it’s collective feet, even employing a floating stage that took her out over the heads of the crowd on what looked like a floating deck, complete with Japanese lanterns and little lights.

 

It was a great show.. and I’m glad I put aside my country music prejudices to go watch. She’s amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

