Perception vs. Reality

What do you see when you look in the mirror? I see a tired, haggard, 32- almost 33 year old with nothing going right for her. I see this:

That’s me two years ago…that’s me almost 70 pounds ago. That’s the person who doesn’t think anything can change for her, who doesn’t think she’s worth the effort of taking time for herself and doing the things that make her happy and healthy. When I look in to the mirror and see this girl looking out, I get angry. I get so frustrated because I know that’s not the person that should be reflecting back at me. Other people comment on my progress and tell me how much I’ve changed…how much younger and healthier I look. I wonder when I’ll be able to see it in myself..I wonder when this will be the face that’s staring back at me from the mirror.

Leave a Reply

