Republic of Tea – Get Active Herb Tea for Endurance

I got a sample in the mail yesterday from the Republic of Tea  consisting of their new “GET ACTIVE”  tea for endurance. I’m not feeling so well, so this comes at a great time. I’m just very run down and blah and according to the website : “With an organic green rooibos base, sourced from Rainforest Alliance Certified™ farms, it employs holy basil, a powerfully rejuvenating herb that helps the body adapt as it copes with the physical stress of exercise while increasing endurance.**These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent disease.** So, I had high hopes for it giving me a little pick up that wasn’t caffeine induced and that there was enough Holy Basil in it to help out with my cough/cold.

My Thoughts: This smells so sweet and  Savory? It’s got a definite “meaty” smell, which is weird. Flavor-wise, I can taste the rooibos which I like and there is a hint of something minty which must be the holy basil. You can get just the tiniest taste of the orange and vanilla towards the end too.  It tasted really full flavored hot, and mellowed as it cooled down, but didn’t lose its taste all together.  As I am writing this a few hours after drinking it I can say that I am feeling a little more awake and a tad bit more energized (though not quite ready to face the world yet)– But I can’t put that wholly on the tea (this cold is kicking my ass)

Would I buy it: Yes. It’s a great price ($12 for a tin of 36 bags, so roughly .33 cents a bag) and a good tasting tea– Just what you’d expect from the Republic 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

