Spring in 2 Action Week one update

Well, it’s been a week since I started the “Spring in 2 action Challenge” over at Shrinking jeans and I must say…it’s been fun.

I have had the chance to get to know Katy over at “Swedish Pancake”..and she’s pretty awesome. If you haven’t read her blog or her twitter updates, you’re missing out on knowing a wonderful lady 🙂 So go on, follow her on Twitter.

I’ve pushed myself hard on the Arc Trainer at the gym, and have been consistently burning 400 plus calories in my 30 minutes that I spend on it. I must say that it gives me quite a thrill to look down and see that many calories gone with such a low perceived rate of effort. Don’t get me wrong…it’s hard as heck especially when I’ve got the resistance dialed up to 55 and the incline at a 6 but it’s amazing to see those numbers. I’ve done alright with my push-ups this week as well. I’m at a solid 20 before I can’t do them with proper form anymore.

Eating on the other hand, I’m not doing well. I have a tendency to just not eat as my appetite runs to the low side. I have a hard time getting to my recommended calories each day, and trust me–while it seems like a good problem to have, it’s not. When you aren’t eating enough, weight loss will plateau. According to the Harris Benedict formula of BMR I have a basal Metabolic rate of 1644.08, which is what my body burns just being alive. So based on my activity level I can consume 2548 calories and not gain weight, but to lose weight I need to eat less than 2048 calories a day. However, with what I managed to eat to day, I am only sitting at 1100 calories. That’s below the 1200 minimum recommendation for women and well below the daily deficit of 500 that I am going for.

So my question to you is:

How many calories a day do you eat? Do you know your BMR? How do they match up?

2 thoughts on “Spring in 2 Action Week one update

  1. i typically eat about 400 above my BMR, then add back half the calories burned from working out. probably not fastest way to lose weight, but i like food so that’s the most i’m willing to do.

    have you considered adding in liquid calories? i’m talking about healthy ones like milk or protein shakes. that’d be an easy way to boost your number up closer to where it should be without having to eat anything.

    if you were trying for cals you could have 100 from the 8 oz milk, 100 from the protein powder, then throw a banana in there for another 100 or so. so that’s 300 easy calories that you don’t have to “eat”

Leave a Reply

